Skip to content

Meet the Experts: Profiles of ETAAC’s Newly Appointed Members

    Originally Published September 19, 2023 – The Internal Revenue Service has recently appointed eight new members to the Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee (ETAAC). This committee, mandated by legislation in 1998, serves as a public platform for deliberating matters concerning electronic tax administration. Originally designed to advocate for paperless tax and information return submissions, ETAAC’s role has evolved in recent times. Presently, its members collaborate closely with the Security Summit, a collaborative initiative involving the IRS, state tax authorities, and the national tax industry, aimed at combating identity theft and refund fraud.

    The committee boasts a wide spectrum of members, including state tax officials, cybersecurity specialists, tax preparers, software developers, and representatives from the payroll, financial, and consumer sectors.

    Here are the newly appointed members who will begin their three-year terms in September 2023:

    Meet the New Members

    Ronald Gilson, Springville, Utah – Gilson is co-owner of Krkcr Inc. His extensive career in the accounting software and services industry spans back to 1997, where he has held various roles, including software platform implementation, project development for new software platforms, and tax and payroll compliance, including file schema updates. Gilson boasts expertise in payroll management, project administration, software system implementation, electronic file creation, and customer account management. Notably, he holds the position of vice president on the board of directors of PayrollOrg (formerly known as the American Payroll Association) and currently acts as the co-chair of the association’s Electronic Payments Subcommittee.

    Robert Grennes, Indianapolis, Indiana – Grennes is currently the Commissioner of the Indiana Department of Revenue (DOR), a role he has held since February 2020. His journey with DOR began in 2017 when he became the Chief Operating Officer, responsible for overseeing operations and service delivery functions with a team of over 500 members. Before joining DOR, Grennes worked in the private sector, leading various information technology and financial services organizations, including management, executive, and board positions. He also serves on the Board of Directors of the Federation of Tax Administrators.

    Douglas Harding, Ellington, Connecticut – Harding holds the distinguished position of Tax Corrections Principal Examiner at the Connecticut Department of Revenue Services, a role he has diligently performed since 2013. During his tenure, he has also served as the department’s Electronic Filing Coordinator, where he assumed responsibility for the oversight of all facets of the Modernized e-File Program. This encompassed schema development, internal testing, software vendor testing, and the proficient resolution of production issues.

    Andrew Jennison, Vienna, Virginia – Jennison is the Director of Government Relations at CGI Technologies and Solutions. He has a background in the tax services industry, including work on a state tax administration task force, and holds graduate-level education in accounting. For seven years, he led a legislative and regulatory team at a national tax preparation company, working at both federal and state levels. During this time, he focused on promoting tax credits and reducing fraud in underserved communities through partnerships with community organizations and non-profits.

    Carol Lew, Laguna Hills, California – Lew is a distinguished shareholder at Stradling, Yocca, Carlson and Rauth, based in Newport Beach, California. As a seasoned tax attorney, she brings substantial expertise to the field, specializing in tax-exempt bond audits and tax-exempt bond voluntary closing agreement program cases. Notably, Ms. Lew served as the President of the National Association of Bond Lawyers from 2006 to 2007 and as the Chair of the American Bar Association’s Tax-Exempt Financing Committee from 2001 to 2003. Her comprehensive experience extends to various roles, including bond counsel, underwriter’s counsel, special tax counsel, and borrower’s counsel, for a wide range of bond issues involving state and local governments and non-profit organizations. These bonds have been instrumental in supporting public infrastructure, housing, charter schools, performing arts facilities, hospitals, museums, and diverse types of facilities. In addition to her professional contributions, Ms. Lew held the role of Editor-in-Chief of the Federal Taxation of Municipal Bonds from 2000 to 2001 and served as a member of the Internal Revenue Service Advisory Council from 2019 to 2022, including serving as its Chair in 2022.

    Amy Wang Miller, Washington, D.C. – Wang Miller currently holds the esteemed position of Director of Public Policy at Carta Inc. In this role, she spearheads initiatives aimed at promoting e-filing for small businesses. Additionally, Ms. Wang Miller provides strategic counsel to financial services member companies, guiding them in making informed business decisions and shaping internal and external messaging. Her responsibilities extend to leading policy engagement strategies with legislators and regulators, focusing on areas such as taxation, valuation, and corporate governance. Prior to joining Carta, Ms. Wang Miller served as a key member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA), where she played a pivotal role in tax policy initiatives encompassing cryptocurrency, education reform, disaster relief, the digital economy, and various individual, business, and international issues. Her advocacy on behalf of AICPA members in tax technical matters included engagements with Congress, Treasury, and the IRS.

    Stephanie Plaza, Easton, Pennsylvania – Plaza holds the position of Senior Lead Product Manager at Wolters Kluwer. With over 12 years of experience in the tax software development and financial products industry, she brings a wealth of knowledge to her role. Notably, Ms. Plaza has been actively involved with prominent organizations such as The Council for Electronic Revenue Communication Advancement (CERCA) and, more recently, the American Coalition for Taxpayers Rights (ACTR). Her work with CERCA includes collaboration with the IRS on improving taxpayer experiences and enhancing digital services.

    Mark Steber, Sarasota, Florida – Steber is the Chief Tax Officer at Jackson Hewitt Tax Service, where he acts as a vital link between the company and government authorities, notably the IRS and state entities. He has been an active participant in the IRS Security Summit since its inception in 2015, contributing significantly to various working groups. Mr. Steber also maintains active involvement with industry groups like ACTR and CERCA. Prior to joining Jackson Hewitt, he served as a Tax Partner at Ernst and Young LLP and previously sat on the Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee (ETAAC) from 2017 to 2020.


    IRS, Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee select 8 new members –